Tags

, ,

Liebster Award

First, I want to thank my friend Kara for nominating me to receive the coveted 2016 Liebster Award. Please check out her entertaining and insightful blog at https://gratefulandauthentic.com.

So, what is the Liebster Award, anyway? Well, it exists only on the Internet, and is essentially a “pay-it-forward” award given to bloggers from other bloggers. The Liebster has been around since at least 2011, and it’s an effective, free way of helping to raise a little awareness about bloggers you enjoy and admire.

The rules for the Liebster Award are pretty simple:

1. Thank and link the person who nominated you.
2. Answer the 11 questions given to you by the nominator.
3. Nominate up to 11 other bloggers who have 1,000 or fewer follows on their blogs.
4. Create 11 new questions for your nominees to answer.
5. Let the nominees know that your blog post is up.

My Responses to Kara’s Questions:

Why did you decide to start a blog?

I started the blog because I needed a vehicle to build an online audience and to help promote my first book, A Plot for Pridemore, which was published in 2014.

What inspired your blog’s name?

A George Carlin routine from the 1980s, which was titled A Place for My Stuff. I thought that “A Place for My Stuff” would be an apt name for my blog since I did not intend on giving it a narrow theme or focus. I have always envisioned my blog as a repository for whatever I feel like writing at the time. It’s about anything and everything, but mostly about Stephen.

How long have you been blogging?

More than three years, since January 2013.

What is the best piece of advice that you’ve ever received?

This question almost begs for a glib response, because it’s really hard for me to sort through all of the wise, caring advice I’ve received in my life. I’ll go with this: when I got my first credit card, my parents directed me to always pay the full balance every month. I actually listened to them, and that practical advice has helped me manage my money and avoid financial stress.

If you could have any super power, what would it be?

I wish I had the power to protect all children from abuse, hunger or an early death.

What has surprised you most about adulthood?

That you never seem to reach that hilltop where you can relax, take a breath and look back on what you have accomplished. There’s always something steeper than must be climbed, immediately.

What advice would you give your 18-year-old self?

“Most of what you’re doing is fine, but quit being so self-conscious around girls.”

What is your favorite book?

Catch-22, by Joseph Heller. Hilarious, painfully true and one of the first books that made me think, “I wish I could write something like that.”

What is your greatest blessing?

Being born into a situation that allowed me to learn, grow and build the kind of life that I thank God for every day.

What is your favorite television show?

Currently, it is Madmen. The series finale left me with a bittersweet wish that the story could continue, the way you sometimes feel after reading a really terrific novel.

What is your favorite quote?

I am having a hard time with this one, but the quote that comes to mind is, “Freedom’s just another word for nothing left to lose.”

Here are the Blogs I’m Nominating:

http://trailheadproductions.com/palette/blog/
http://www.kennethwbarber.com/#!blog/c1bbq
http://karenzach.com/
http://mustlistentoallthemusic.blogspot.com/
http://www.fowllanguagecomics.com/
http://devinestudios.com/blog/
http://www.instaprincess.net/blog/

Here are My 11 Questions for the Nominees:

What is the most valuable thing you have learned from blogging?

If I could read only one post on your blog, which one should it be?

What is the last thing that made you laugh really hard?

Why do you feel the need to blog?

You have to make an eight-hour drive through Kansas. What famous, living person would you most enjoy taking along with you, and why?

What famous, living person would you least want to take with you on the drive through Kansas, and why?

Describe an instance in your life when you really thought that you might die.

Almost everyone has a “happy place.” Describe yours.

When you were seven, what did you want to be when you grew up?

Name a movie that you just can’t stop watching whenever you see it on TV.

Name a time when you took a big risk, and it really paid off.

 

