Tomorrow marks the 10th anniversary of the day we got our wonderful dog, Keiko. Since we don’t know her date of birth, this is the day we choose to celebrate her. So, happy “birthday,” Keiko! You have made our lives richer in so many ways.

A Place for My Stuff

10540919_688033144622895_107913783551619890_n

On July 31, 2005, my wife and I adopted a dog. It was not an easy decision. We had two cats at the time, and adding a dog to the mix was certain to cause some domestic unrest.

“I’ve had dogs before,” I told my wife. “They need a lot of attention and can be a lot of trouble.”

We were not planning on getting a dog in the summer of 2005. One evening after work, we got a phone call from my wife’s cousin. He told us about this dog he had rescued from a co-worker who could no longer care for it. The dog’s name was D.J., and it was some kind of a border collie mix.

“You should come look at her,” he suggested. “She’s really pretty.”

The cousin lived near our house, so we went over that night. It had been raining earlier in the day…

View original post 636 more words

