I am re-posting this because my dear college friend, Michael Schwartz, has launched a KickStarter campaign to fund a movie he wants to shoot at locations around the world before he loses what remains of his eyesight. A truly inspiring and courageous endeavor that you can learn more about by clicking here: http://kck.st/ZF2RC9

A Place for My Stuff

untitled
I met Michael Schwartz during my first semester at the University of Missouri in 1989. We shared an English class with about 10 other easily startled freshmen. Our instructor was a slightly mad fellow by the name of Aristotle Baklava, who did everything in his power to turn English 101 into a left-leaning political science course. Each week, he had us write term papers on different chapters from a book called Courage of Their Convictions: Sixteen Americans Who Fought Their Way to the Supreme Court. We wrote about gay rights, freedom of religion, freedom of expression and the uniquely American right to burn the country’s flag at the Republican National Convention. I have to admit I learned a lot about writing in that class. Once my terms papers started taking on a decidedly liberal slant, my grade average magically rose from a low “C” to a solid “A.”

I…

View original post 477 more words

