Tags

, , , , , , , ,

PlotForPridemore (2)For months, I have anticipated how Mercer University Press might interpret my novel through their book cover. I gave the publisher a few suggestions on how I envisioned it, but I otherwise had minimal input. Today, I had my first look at the book cover from Mercer, and I have to say that I am very excited and impressed.

The above image portrays the opening to Dragon’s Ice House, a network of caverns on the outskirts of Pridemore, Missouri, where a lot of the action takes place in the second half of the book. Over the years, I had imagined a photographic image of a small-town Main Street as the cover for A Plot for Pridemore, but I have to say that I much prefer the direction the artist took. The image is rustic, mysterious and foreboding. It makes me want to know what’s happening inside that deep, dark crevice.

While A Plot for Pridemore is a humorous tale, there is darkness and suspense to the story and its characters as well. This cover art captures those qualities.

As mentioned here before, my novel will debut as a paperback and an e-book in May. Seeing the cover for the first time is another reminder that something I have long dreamed about is on the verge of becoming reality. I can’t wait to share this book with all of you!

