Tags

, , , ,

Beer and book

I apologize for not posting lately. The above photo illustrates what I have been doing most nights over the past week, which is reading and editing the final proofs of A Plot for Pridemore (usually without the beer). I’ll mail these pages with my edits back to the publisher, Mercer University Press, next week. The next step will be cover art for the book, which I’ll share with you as soon as it’s available.

Speaking of Mercer, I made a trip to Macon, Georgia, last week to meet the fine folks who run the University Press. They took me out for a barbecue lunch and patiently answered my questions about how this whole publishing business works. I knew I was back home in my native Georgia when I walked into the Press offices and publishing assistant Marsha Luttrell immediately began talking about which restaurants in town served the best Brunswick Stew. It was a wonderful visit, and I appreciate Dr. Marc Jolley and his team taking time from their busy day to talk with a first-time author.

Again, apologies for the lack of posts. I hope to return to my regular routine/goal of two blog posts a week very soon.

Incidentally, the beverage featured in my photo is called “80-Acre,” a new wheat beer from Boulevard Brewing Co. If you’re ever in the Kansas City area and you enjoy a good beer, you should definitely try one of Boulevard’s fine products.

