Tags

, , , , , ,

images

Last night, our three-year-old son went to the movie theater for the first time. He saw Turbo, the new DreamWorks picture about a snail who has an insatiable need for speed. I’m proud to report that our son sat through the entire two-hour movie, and was so inspired by Turbo’s story that he raced his cousin to the bathroom right after the closing credits.

I am trying to remember the first movie I ever saw in a theater (which would have been my first movie anywhere, those being the days before home video). I think it was either Bambi, which I watched with my parents at a theater in Columbus, Ga., or Escape From Witch Mountain, which my mom took me to see in our hometown of LaGrange. I remember leaving Witch Mountain a little early, just as a helicopter with the bad guys landed upside down on the mountain. Maybe it was more than I could handle. Regardless of which movie was the first, I achieved this milestone in 1975, when I was four years old. It was the beginning of regular trips to the theater to watch a whole slew of Disney movies, from Pinocchio to Snow White to the less-memorable Shaggy D.A. and The Cat From Outer Space.

Do you remember your first trip to the movies as a kid? What movie was it? What year was it?

Image courtesy of DreamWorks.

