Tags

, , , , , , ,

“That’s the whole meaning of life, isn’t it? Trying to find a place for your stuff.”

So begins an old George Carlin routine about people’s absurd attachment to things and how those things come to define their lives. I chose “A Place for My Stuff” as the title for this blog not because I’m interested in exploring man’s existential quest to acquire more possessions, but because I really do need a place for my stuff – my writings, musings, photos, short stories, even some old videos. I’ve accumulated a lot of it over 42 years and it would nice after all this time to have it in one location. Of course, there will be new stuff. My goal is to post something new at least once a week. Hopefully, most of it will be entertaining to more than just me. Otherwise, why not just keep it all in a spiral notebook?

I’ve given a lot of thought to starting this blog. Maybe too much thought. I’ve thought and thought about different themes and subject matter. Should it be humorous? Should it be serious? Should I have a gimmick to draw people in, like ranking every major league ballpark or a going on a cross-country quest to find America’s greatest cheeseburger?

After mulling the possibilities, I decided the blog’s mission should be open-ended, a collection of things that are on my mind or topics that I find interesting. And, hopefully, it will contain some good writing. It is writing and my ambition to become a better writer that will drive this little project. Late last year, I learned that my first novel won a fiction award and will be published in 2014. That prospect is both thrilling and frightening to me. My expectation is that this blog will help me further improve my craft as well as, frankly, become a place where I can generate some interest in my book. More to come about that later.

At any rate, I’m looking forward to beginning this journey as a blogger. I hope you’ll join me for the ride. So now I guess I click on the blue button that reads, “Publish Post.” 

